PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in Bunbury, WA

South West Home Maintenance
12-09-2011, 11:30 AM
Hey guys would just like to say hello and get some advice as im just starting out.

Through lots of studying of deans book, reading peoples experiences here and asking a few lawnies i've been able to get a lot of what i need to know already, i have pricing structure and such and am raring to go personally but i need to know what spares i should have with me everyday, what whippy line i should have, hand tools etc, etc.

KK to start out im a 26yo single father who having grown up on a farm loves working outdoors but since having a major accident a couple of years back am only just getting back to work now and im looking to do this part time/build into fulltime as my fitness and overall health continues to improve. Although having worked and grown up on a farm i am very green in the world of mechanics and while i can change the oil, plugs etc in gear if it gets much more than that im out of my depth at the moment so im sure it will be a learning experience too.

As far as gear is concerned this is what i have so far to start out
a Nissan Navara Dual Cab ute
a 7x5 caged trailer with ramps
a honda hru216 sp rotary mower
a honda umk435u brushcutter
a atom lawn edger powered by a honda gx35
a talon backpack blower (i know not the greatest brand but shelf model out on clearance for 80 dollars was hard to say no)
a stihl fs36 (backup brushy)
i have a shovel, rake and a couple of jerry cans too.

I guess what i need to know is what oils do people suggest, how much fuel should i carry, what tools to carry and what other little things that make the business easier. For example i was planning on using chaff bags for carrying clippings and using baling clips on them to attach them to a hand trolley to make them easier to move about. I also need to know what blades people suggest using etc, what i should use for sharpening them etc etc.