PDA

View Full Version : Helpful advice for a complete NOOB?

ben6
21-03-2012, 11:02 AM
Hi All,

i am currently working in something that bores me greatly!

so i have been talking to my wife about lawns/garden maintenance... she agrees that it would suit me wonderfully.

so i have decided to start of as part-time, after work & weekends instead of quitting my job etc... At 1st it will be purely mowing lawns and doing edges (maybe basic lawn clean-up) as i only have a mower and snipper that i do my lawns with at home & once i start getting more customers i will buy better equipment.

I will be doing my own flyers and doing letter box drops, putting on notice boards at shops, word of mouth from friends and family etc...

i have a few questions that i am hoping some of you guys / girls can help with...

they are:

What sort of equipment is best (brands, sizes etc...) and what different types of equipment will i need
would a Ute or trailer be better in the long run
do i need to register for gst at this point, if no when should that happen
how do you go about quoting
is insurance important at this point
with the waste is it taken to the tip

That's all for now but i am sure there will be more as i go.
i really do want to go the best route with equipment so i am keen to hear your suggestions on that one.

my wife is looking into the abn, and name registration etc... (thanks dear, much appreciated... love you) so that's all good.

anyway, if you guys / girls can offer some input and answers that would be fantastic! i look forward to seeing your replies.

Thanks
Ben

PhilG
21-03-2012, 12:54 PM
This is the way that I started. I was a postie and I would go and knock over a couple of lawns after work and at weekends.