PDA

View Full Version : Melb Newbie

johnny.ros
01-04-2012, 10:26 AM
Hi all.
Have been stalking this forum for a few weeks now. VERY informative, and at times, entertaining too. It’s great that so many knowledgeable people are prepared to share their IP and experiences with others. Thankyou!
Sold my business 7 months ago after being self employed in hospitality for the previous 30 years and decided that lawn mowing was for me. I’ve been doing regular maintenance on some gardens for a few years now, so I know a LITTLE of what to expect.
But, as with any new enterprise, there are always so many questions.
So I joined ILMCOA, read the manual and studiously searched for and read every thread of this forum that I thought relevant (still going).
Sometimes, the more answers you get, the more questions you have.
This is where I find myself now.
Have registered a business name and an abn. Currently in the process of setting up a website, insurance, logo, flyers etc. Have spoken to a couple of RE agent contacts and they were very helpful with some “inside information”.
Currently have a Honda 196, LPG wagon, cage trailer with mower bay, backpack sprayer, chainsaw and assorted hand tools but am looking to buy some new equipment in the next couple of weeks.
This is where you come in.
*Need a brushcutter and am leaning towards a Kawasaki KBH45B for feral jobs. Alternatively, should I be looking at a slashing mower instead/as well?
*Am looking at Shindaiwa Multi tool with speed feed head, art hedge trimmer and short shaft pole pruner.
After reading some of the posts concerning this unit, do you think it will be too heavy to constantly use as a hedger? What are the alternatives?
Should I forget the Multi and buy dedicated tools instead?
I’m also on the lookout for a mentor/guru that may be prepared to have me tag along with them occasionally to learn the ropes. Nothing like having someone show you one on one. As I’m currently not working, my schedule is pretty flexible.