PDA

View Full Version : Speed

lemonhead
04-09-2012, 07:54 AM
just wondering how many jobs you guys get through in a day?....Do you aim for a certain amount per day?and how fast does it take you to do a normal suburban block,run of the mill garden,as in whip,mow,blow?.........as a newbie i was hoping to do 4 per day...is this unrealistic or underachieving?....thanks daz

Classic Cut
04-09-2012, 08:18 AM
Darren with a full client list of 120+ I get through 5 every 2hours when working two up and 3 when working by myself. You will need a tight run with less travel time to do it though.

Decide how many hours you want to work and do the maths. Long term operators can punch out 20+ jobs a day 2up consistently when required. Your limitations will be your number of clients, but 4 should be achieved in 3 hours as a guide when first starting, aim for more I would say.

Stump
04-09-2012, 08:33 AM
Yes, if your run is compact you should do at least one an hour, travel time included.

PaulG
04-09-2012, 08:39 AM
Show me a picture of a "normal suburban block"!

1/4 acre blocks here with lots of gardens and paths to edge around I'm lucky to do in 1.25 to 1.5 hours and I don't dawdle.

luketud
04-09-2012, 09:19 AM
Its hard to say how many you get though a day, I always worked to how much turnover a day you wanted such as $1 a minute or $500 a day.

Like PaulG said, How big a block are we talking everywhere has different sizes. I use to do some that would take 2 1/2hr pushing.

But 4 a day prob a little low I'm just starting back up in a new area and i would would be happy with around 6-7 a day would be on the money for me as i still want to take the kids to school and pick them up.

m287j
04-09-2012, 09:41 AM
I work on the theory quality not quantity, if you take care of the quality the $$$ will take of themselves.
Once established i figure a 1 man garden maintenance business should aim for $300 a day, which is $1,500 a week or $75,000 a year.

PaulG
04-09-2012, 10:42 AM