PDA

View Full Version : Digging up Agapanthus.

ma1green
23-05-2014, 10:51 AM
Hi guys, I have a job to dig up about a 10 metre stretch of Agapanthus next week. I was wondering what would be the best way? Is it just a case of literally digging them out with brawn or is there an easy way?, because it looks like a real pain because they are quite big and the roots look like a real bastard to get out. Plus they are right up against a fence so I can only get at them from one side.

I know it sounds like a dumb question, but I've never done it before.

SM MOWING
23-05-2014, 12:26 PM
Digging to keep or bin?

They have roots that spread outwards around in a circle, so you'll need to dig around to sever as many roots as possible then leverage out the ground. Can be a bit&h. Helps if the soil is more sandy, less for the roots to hold onto. I would work from right to left or left to right .

Stump
23-05-2014, 01:33 PM
Matic and heavy crow bar would be the go

ma1green
23-05-2014, 03:04 PM
Thanks fellas. I'm going to be throwing them SM Mowing. The soil is quite sandy so should'nt be too bad then. I don't have a matic so I'll have to buy one I think.

Fred's mowing
23-05-2014, 04:21 PM
Thanks fellas. I'm going to be throwing them SM Mowing. The soil is quite sandy so should'nt be too bad then. I don't have a matic so I'll have to buy one I think.

Bobcat would be the best but Im betting you don't have one, so,
SHARP , Long handled spade, SHARP axe, SHARP mattock & a good set of radio earmuffs.
Cheers Fred.

seliment
23-05-2014, 04:57 PM

Absolute pest plant in the Dandenongs -- brute of stuff.
Mattock or pickaxe with a blade about 75mm wide and sharp works well.
Dont worry too much about getting whole root ball initially.
There will be a mass/tangle of roots left which will come out later with a fork.

Check with council --- you (or owner) might be able to get voucher to dump for free, but you have to ask.