PDA

View Full Version : mowing new turf

Pain in the Grass
21-06-2004, 02:54 PM
Hey guys.... I'm looking to quote on a commerical job where the turf was laid about 4 - 6 weeks ago. With the cold dry weather here it doesnt look to have grown that much since it was laid...I'm figuring no one has watered or fertilised it since it was put down..

Pretty sure it's buffalo.... Question is...If I get the job to mow it...should it be top dressed first (fill in any gaps where it was laid) or mow it then do that after....Cos, it is dry, I don't want to kill it off by mowing....Am I making sense here??? I'm not a horticulturist, nor have I had any actual training in turf care..Just mow the damn things. But I want it to be a real good job and make it a showpiece for my business.

Any ideas guys. :i dunno:

Easycareacres
21-06-2004, 06:11 PM
G'day Pain n Grass, well im no expert either but I have to mow new turf weekly, sometimes 3 weeks from layed out. Ask your company if they want to pay for fert etc. Im told to mow low and scuff out the highs. Also im very lucky as water trucks watering turf to keep it growing. We have speacil american breeds that only require mowing every 2-3 months with very small foilage. I would ask to :russ: see if they want to pay more fisrt.

Pain in the Grass
21-06-2004, 06:29 PM
cheers easy..thanks for the info...Yeah, I guess it all comes down to how much they want top pay. If I do get the job, I would probably put in time for nothing just it get it up to scratch. It's in a high visibility area that may prove beneficial for my business.....A resume on dirt if you like!! :laughing:

Pres Lawn
23-06-2004, 06:52 PM