PDA

View Full Version : Discounts for lawnies?

holdenhead
15-02-2008, 10:37 PM
Hi all,

I have been using the same mower shop for the last 2 years and they used to look after me but since this guy I used to deal with left a couple of weeks ago no more discounts. The owner who is german or something doesn't think I am entitled to a cheaper rate than everyone else. I am in the market for a ride on at the moment and he says I'll give you a good price and tells me $5860 for the cr17.032d Cox. He tryed to get a deposit out of me straight away but I left to do some homework. I rang a few other cox dealers and found this was full retail. I called a mate who is in sales for a major retailer as he has connections. He calls me back a few hours later with the cost price. (big profit although he told me he only makes a couple of hundred) So I head back to my mower shop and tell the boss I think it's only fair that I pay cost + 5% as I spend quite a bit of money at this 1 shop. I have not had an anwser yet but he rang me this arvo to tell me to meet him tomorrow morning. If he had shaved $500 off the price at the start I would not have gone and done any research. If he doesn't come to the party I will go elsewhere.

My question is how much does your mower shop look after you??

Cheers Rick

ian
16-02-2008, 12:00 AM
i remember after having brought 2 mowers a blower and a chainsaw of a dealer over a period of about 12 months i had to take a mower back 1st lawn the new reinforced honda axle broke they replaced it under warranty but about a week later i noticed it was loose some of the bolts had dropped out took it back and he charged me for the bolts so i started looking for another dealer and found my current one who was about 20% cheaper on parts and repairs so if this guy won't look after you look around i'm sure it will be his lose

ian
16-02-2008, 12:02 AM
and to actually answer your question i can expect to get between 5 and 20% off the shelf price

twin_cities_lawncare