PDA

View Full Version : Does Synthetic Chemicals cause genetic imbalances in Kids ?

lifestyle
21-06-2008, 09:02 AM
When i first started in this industry (about 15 years ago), I would use just about any type of available chemical to treat whatever needed treating, i didn't know any better.

I had heard of "genetics" and "chromosomes" and problems associated with chemicals etc, but it went in one ear and out the other... Apparently they reckon if we use chemicals and it gets on our skin it can be absorbed into our bodies and cause all types of mutations and cancers and the like... yeah right, more "Greenie Speak". :dean:

I just ignored it as hogwosh...

Time fly's, Next month it will be our daughters 9th Birthday. I had been working in this Industry for 6 years before she was born. I don't think Beth will know its her Birthday however, she probably doesn't even know how old she is..., she can't talk, she can't walk without help, she needs someone to feed her, her nappies need changing at least 4 or 5 times a day. Luckily her epilepsy has been under control now for a couple of years...

"Angelman Syndrome" is the result of a deletion of part of the 15th chromosome, causing severe developmetal delay, lack of speach, limited ability to walk, Epilepsy, incontenence and a list of other symptoms...

Was her disability the result of my active use of toxic chemicals; many people say it was, just as many say it wasn't... but in the end, is it worth taking a chance ?

Islandhead
21-06-2008, 09:28 AM
Sad story Lifestyle, I feel for you and your family. :who-knows

But I don't think you can blame yourself, as a human being you can only work on the knowledge you have at the time.

Now we all know about synthetic chemicals and some of their very negative effects on us and the environment and all we can do about it is use less of them (or preferably none at all) and try and educate others.

At the end of the day as one person you just have to do you bit...