PDA

View Full Version : Lawn Education, Books etc.

GregG
07-10-2004, 11:20 PM
As I am starting out in the industry can any one recommend any books on Lawn care. I may look at a TAFE course but not till next year.
I am mainly aiming just at lawn care and maintenace to start up and as I get more experienced branch out into other fields and after reading Alex's posts I reckon irrigation may be the go as well as returfing those crap lawns especially the couch ones.

APS_QLD
08-10-2004, 06:01 AM
I admit i am no expert and i hate getting asked from owners whats wrong with the lawn and how can i fix it.

Apart from doing a PH test and seeing if its lacking in some way, I am only guessing. I want to be able to at least gain a better grounding in lawn care so i can at least help the owners with some confidence.

Im looking at the moment for any courses which my help. If there are any books i to would be interested.

Brian

robscl
08-10-2004, 08:43 AM
I did certIII in horticulture parks and gardens, this course covers most apsects of the industry including turf, pest and disease , irrigation,design just about all areas you will need to cover in your garden maintenance biz, 3 yrs part time. Well worth the investment in my books

Rob :p

Pres Lawn
08-10-2004, 05:09 PM
Tafe here in Adelaide has a course on turf and miataince with a few differnt modlues, I enjoyed it and learnt a hell of a lot. Well worth the efort.

GregG
12-10-2004, 09:09 PM
Does any one have a bible of lawn care that they refer to ???

craig
12-10-2004, 09:24 PM
I did a 1yr pre-voc course in amenity hort specializing in parks & gardens a long long time ago. Only recently returning to the industry full time the changes have amazed me. Back then everything was couch with abit of greenle... park[can't spell] & a bit of tiff dwarf.But I've found using & abusing my local bowls club greenkeeper & my turf supplier has been the best source of info. Craig

ryancronin
13-10-2004, 05:40 PM