PDA

View Full Version : The First Job Thread, Share Yours.

Andy B
30-08-2009, 10:43 PM
I've been mowing lawns for awhile now and a few months ago I bought and read Dean's book Lawn Mowing Fastrack to Success. To thank him publicly for his book and support and website and everything ILMCOA has done to give me the confidence to build my own business, I have just written my version of "the first job". It's a bit lengthy and I apologise for that but it's true and hopefully someone new to the game can get something out of it.

So if you've got the time have a read, and when you're finished write yours and share it.

After reading Dean’s book a couple of months ago and stretching the finances to the limit to purchase equipment, insurance etc. I have finally done a letter box drop and it’s now generated 3 calls!
The first was a quote for mowing and hedges on a house that’s going to become a rental, (yet to do job). The second was for a yard clean up, mowing hedges etc. Big job but cancelled day before. The third call generated the first job! Until now I had only ever worked for people I knew or friends and relatives of people I knew.

The following is my analytical recollection of the day. I quoted the job thinking it would be done in about two and half hours but as taught by all ILMCOA gave set price. I wrote quote on the bottom of a short introduction letter with my business name in large print at the top.

I advised the client I would be there around 9am. The client greeted me out the front as I was putting on sunscreen and showed me another garage door that had not been opened when I did the quote. It was a big relief as I was dreading carrying my brand new Honda 196d up the back stairs. I thanked the client and finished with the sunscreen and pulled out my Kawasaki EG35 (brushcutter with the chord head on). Put the straps on and started her up. Cut all the front edges and headed around the side and out the back.