PDA

View Full Version : help on charging clients

grantslawnmowing
20-09-2009, 03:49 PM
Hi, I've been a lurker on this site for a while and just figured out I could actually post...so here goes. I've been mowing lawns for about 6 months and started to branch out to garden work. How do I charge for digging holes, putting in flowering plants and covering with woodchip. Do I charge on an hourly rate or an overall rate and what would be reasonable? I am looking at 40 potplants and 2 full days. Thanks.

DavidS
20-09-2009, 06:32 PM
Is the job a new garden or a renovation of an older garden which requires some work before planting. If a new garden and all it needs is planting and mulching, quote by the job. If the garden needs work then I would quote by the hour as you don't know what is lerking below the surface. Have you pH tested the soil to make certain the plants are suitable for the soil. If the pH is wrong then you have to change it with either lime to raise it or sulphur to lower it.
Good luck with it, if you need any advise we are all here to try and help you

Cranbourne Lawnmowing
20-09-2009, 06:39 PM
Like DavidS said make sure if the ground is suitable. Especially if its like where I am. Clay, clay and more clay. You dont want to quote for 2 days work then find your've got a mother of a job getting the soil right or risk killing all the plants.

Cranbourne Lawnmowing
20-09-2009, 06:42 PM
Could you tell us what the plants are as a matter of interest :wave-hi:

grantslawnmowing
20-09-2009, 06:54 PM
Thank you so much for such prompt replies. It is an existing garden with yellow and orange "clivea" flowering plants. The owner wanted me to fill in all the empty spaces. I just needed to dig the holes, put them in, and cover with woodchip. Thanks for the advice on soil testing - I honestly did not even think about that. I did a job a few weeks ago and totally undervalued myself, I charged $160 not knowing it would end up taking 2 days.

Islandhead
20-09-2009, 06:59 PM