Independent LawnMowing Contractors Of Australia Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tax, Gst, Etc

Default Tax, Gst, Etc

KURA ALL,

I've been slowly doing all the paper work etc in setting up my own lawnmowing business. I'm not starting until early 2007 in Beechboro, Perth (after my honeymoon!!). I've been chefing for the past 12 years & now want to be my own boss, so the harder i work the more rewards I GET. To start with i'm going to mow etc as much as possable while still chefing casual...........So any way the reason i'm writing this is to ask everyone that when you first started out from scatch did you start straight away with an ABN? when you had know or very little clients to start with. Or did you wait till you had it least 50 to 70 clients & then get a ABN? What would be the best way?? ALSO is it true you dont need to pay GST until your earning $50,000 plus a year? And in the second year in business do you then pay your TAX & GST evey three months. If so do you need a business a/c or can you just use a savings a/c???
    Keen to here from every one.

Cheers!!

KIWI

Default Re: Tax, Gst, Etc

Just do the right thing from the start A.B.N etc as i have been going three years there are still new things to learn .I had a visit from the tax department last week i rang and asked some questions and they have a free service that they will come to you and advise you how to go about things . They do not advertise that they do this but it was a great help . its made it easyier to do a lot of things regarding book work . if you do the right thing they will leave you alone.
    Last edited by administrator; 07-10-2006 at 08:23 AM.

Cheers Nev, this info will help!

Thats correct if u are going to stay under the 50 thousand dollar threshold then you will not have to collect gst

Please Support The Sponsors www.lawnmowingdirectory.com.au

As they support this forum

Carrum downs Dandenong Doveton

Senior Member twin_cities_lawncare's Avatar

Kiwi