Independent LawnMowing Contractors Of Australia Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cert 11/111 Hort(Arborculture) Whatdoyoureckon?

Default Cert 11/111 Hort(Arborculture) Whatdoyoureckon?

I I do lawns and gardening, but find myself doing more and more tree work, but I am very much self taught. I have read a few books and had some instruction from orchardists and can normally bluff my way along, but have been thinking of doing a TAFE course in aboriculture a day a week. TAFE offer a cert 111 and IV- the first takes a year, the second 3 years.

The cert 111 looks more fun but if I did the IV perhaps I'd be set up for tree assessments and planning etc. I'm 47 YO so wouldn't mind making a quid out of the intelligent side of it down the track.

Wouldn't mind going along with one of you tree guys if you need someone!

Really like some advice on the quals. Thanks Fellas.

Tom

Default Re: Cert 11/111 Hort(Arborculture) Whatdoyoureckon?

i dont do tree work like that, and im certainly not qualified,

but if you find it fun, and it interests you, and you cna make good dough from it down the track, my opinion (if you want it lol) would be to go for it, tom

having that qualification cant hurt, its only a night? a week, go for it mate

its gotta make you SOME extra dough

ive often thought of doing a pest controllers course - i nearly got a subby job for one of the possum guys here in brissie - where they put you through the pest courses - still think about doing the course.

find out morea bout em, see what each cert gets you qualified for.

the more info you have to make your decision the better.

it cant make you LESS money to have the qual.

hope i helped

cheers

sign up over at www.treeworld.info/ (and even treebuzz's articles sections its good read) and do some reading/ask some questions.

I would not bother with a cert 2(as in your title) as its a waste a time(you probably already know it all anyway) even if you plan to go onto a cert 3 or 4.