Independent LawnMowing Contractors Of Australia Forum
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Before I was a Lawnie.....

Default Before I was a Lawnie.....

O.k boys and girls ; I know most of you didn't grow up with the dream of being a Lawnie ! What sorts of jobs did you do before making the switch ? I was a Chef for 15 years . Trained at the Windsor Hotel Melbourne . Had my own catering business for 4 years and worked in Hotels , Restaurants and Golf Clubs in Vic ,N.S.W. and W.A. Been mowing for 8 years now .
    BLUEBOY

Default Re: Before I was a Lawnie.....

21 years in the Army, 2 years working for a boss in a pallet and packaging company, 1 year with Jims Mowing and the last 7.5 as an independent.

The best thing I have ever done is become a member of Indi. Lots of great info and it's nice to know that I am not the only one in the mowing business.
    Darrel Foster
    Hastings Valley Mowing

I worked in the mining industry...
    Alumina refining to be exact. Had me living in Mandurah, Gladstone and Gove for a stint each. Started from bottom and ended up the last 6 or 7 years in a control room pushing buttons...My wife and kids came to an open day once and they all agreed I looked like Homer Simpson.
    Nothing like being a lawnie to shed those extra kilos ay.

lifestyle

Been mowing for coin on and off since i was 16. Only stopped in between for family reasons and a 12 Horticulture Certificate.

Spent 12 months working as a Personal carer in Queensland (Physically & Intellectually disabled).

Remember the movie "Field of Dreams" with Kevin Costner... Well any time i wasn't mowing i could almost hear the corn... I mean grass calling out... "Cut me"...

Been a lawnie since I was 10 mowing my grans house,and never have stopped, have always done between 1-90 But have done several part time jobs at the same time , Iam an adict

lifestyle

What the heck is a 12 Horticulture Certificate ?

I think "months" should go in there somewhere...