Independent LawnMowing Contractors Of Australia Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting out, equipment and your local mower shop

Default Starting out, equipment and your local mower shop

I have looked at the "Starter packages" available from Dean and they do represent good value for money......but
    I have also been in consultation with my local mower store. They too have offered me a very good package that is equal in value for money.
    So how much do you depend upon your local store for parts and pieces? I am looking to develop a relationship with them for obvious reasons but with everything being available online and often at a discounted price do I really need to rely on them?
    I am a small engine mechanic and have a sound knowledge of plant and equipment and so can easily maintain my own equipment.
    My conundrum is. Do I purchase from Indy and keep up with consumables and spares via the internet or front up to the counter of the local store for parts and pieces that I require urgently when they have never seen me. Or do I buy through them and develop a rapport that will hopefully see me in a favourable position for customer service and possibly even loaner equipment if the worst case arises?

Where did you lot source your equipment when you first started out?
    What sort of relationship do you have with your local suppliers?
    Theres an elephant looking over my left shoulder and a giraffe looking over my right as I hit "submit". We are all intrigued but are not sure if this is another trivial matter we are over thinking.

Default Re: Starting out, equipment and your local mower shop

get an makita 2510 whippy, a pope blower and a ebay chinese honda from AGR or similar(theres stuff all difference between the "genuine" & the copies, just the opinions of people living in the past)