Independent LawnMowing Contractors Of Australia Forum

Thread: Pole Saw Query

Hybrid View

Default Pole Saw Query

I need a pole saw to trim a large tree in my front yard. As I am just starting out, I don't have one in my arsenel yet. I can hire one for around $110 a day or buy a cheapie from ebay for around $200 (Dingo Tools).

Has anyone heard any stories regarding Dingo Tools?

I figure if it gets me through the job I need to do at home, and a couple of paid jobs, I can eventually get a good one when this one gives up the ghost.

Default Re: Pole Saw Query

I was looking at the BAUMR Ag and Dingo ones on eBay too. The thing I don't like about them is the multi segmented design. I guess for the price some of them are selling for though, even if you got 12 months out of it you're doing okay.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NEW-SUPER...d=255919009845

I was considering one of these from Trade Tools here in Queensland for $350. They're a 26cc motor only, but similar in design to the Stihl, Echo and Efco saws. The Efco at $1050 would be my pick of them all as the bar can be moved through 90 degrees so you're not cutting through the branch at an angle to the ground.

http://www.tradetools.com/Catalogue/...uctCode=FYS450

I had a baumr ag pole hedger the 33cc model, it lasted about 3 jobs...now may as well throw the whole thing in the bin, clutch is engaging but not turning the drive shaft even the other parts that I butchered for other things are all gave up the ghost in less than a year of occasional use. If you're looking at the same power head, save your dosh and put it towards something better. I have a baumr ag chainsaw though and it goes well and had plenty of one off use and one day went all day 8+hrs and didn't play up once. Sorry can't help you on dingo tools.

What about the Yukon multi? Supposed to be ok for the money.
    I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather.....not screaming in terror like the passengers in his car!!!